MENU

Music

Mr. Patrick Gallagher
Chairperson for Art, FCS & Music
631-345-2710
Patrick.Gallagher@longwoodcsd.org

DawnMarie Conti
8th Grade Band Director
631-345-2700
Dawn.Conti@longwoodcsd.org

Melissa Hahn
7th & 8th Grade Orchestra Director
631-345-2700
Melissa.Hahn@longwoodcsd.org

Brittney Hassett
7th Grade Music Teacher
631-345-2700
Brittney.Hassett@longwoodcsd.org

Lauren Murray
7th & 8th Grade Orchestra Director
631-345-2700
Lauren.Murray@longwoodcsd.org

Denise Romas
7th & 8th Grade Choral Director
631-345-2700
Denise.Romas@longwoodcsd.org

Molly Schaefer
7th Grade Music Teacher
631-345-2700
Molly.Schaefer@longwoodcsd.org

Christopher Tunney
7th Grade General Band Teacher
631-345-2700
Christopher.Tunney@longwoodcsd.org
‚Äč

General Music
Music is mandated at the seventh grade level. Students must be enrolled in either Performing Music or General Music. These classes and ensembles meet every other day for the entire school year.  In 8th grade students have the option of continuing participation in a performing music ensemble.

In General Music students have the opportunity to develop listening skills through the use of listening journals in analyzing music from different time periods and a variety of musical styles. Students have three separate units in which they acquire musical skills in percussion, keyboard and guitar through hands on activities with each of these instruments. Students develop their ability to analyze, read and connect musical skills that can be applied to all disciplines and outside of school in their lives.

Performing Music
Music is mandated at the seventh grade level. Students must be enrolled in either Performing Music or General Music. These classes and ensembles meet every other day for the entire school year.
In 8th grade students have the option of continuing participation in a performing music ensemble.

Students in Performing Music participate in one of our three ensembles Band, Orchestra and Chorus.  They have rehearsals built into their schedules every other day for the entire year. Lessons are one time per week during their lunch periods. Students who miss lessons and fail to make them up will get a cut slip with disciplinary actions. Students are required to attend lessons and both concerts in order to receive full credit for participation in our ensembles.

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2017 West Corporation. All rights reserved.